Gettin’ Busy on a Sunday

30 May

After a couple of weeks of lazily adding to my Web site, I have finally been able to say that my personal site, www.jon-brandt.com, is ready. It took a rainy and nasty Saturday at home plus an early start this morning to crack down and get the work finished, and I’m happy with the final result. On this site you can now find just about all of the publications that I have from the last few years, a few photographic examples, and all of the videos that I have made.

I like this because it complements the blog well. There you can see my work in a sort of active resume form, while here at the Travel Guy blog, it’s a running commentary of my life here. Kind of like reading a book in real time. The videos I have made are also available here on this blog, but there are some more interactive features available on the other page as well.

After finishing the work on the Web site I met Brian down in San Telmo so he could buy some souvenirs. He’s leaving on Thursday, which means I’ll be losing another friend. This process continues much in the same way as it has gone. We walked around a bit and once he was satisfied, we walked down to La Boca. It’s been a while since I’ve been there and I had a craving to get a large sandwich from the bakery in front of where I used to live. I remembered that they used to cost $5, but the price has since gone up to $7. Still, the sandwich is huge.

Another surprise is that the street I used to live on, which was cracked and broken, has been totally repaved and repaired. It’s not finished yet, but it’s clear that it looks much better already. There used to be unnecessary steps on the sidewalk which would slow you down and trip you up, but they are now gone and the street is level. It already makes the area seem safer. After picking up the sandwich it was a long walk back to the Subte to head home. Now I’m going to try to get some video edited together on the Bicentennial from last week.

Leave a Reply

