World Cup Intensity Weekend

25 Jun

This weekend is going to be packed with soccer (or as I’m used to calling it by now, fútbol). I’m sure that this isn’t news to anyone, but the U.S. is playing Ghana on Saturday afternoon and on Sunday Argentina is playing Mexico. Both games will be on at 3:30 pm Buenos Aires time. I’m thinking of going back to the bar in San Telmo where I watched the U.S./England game a couple of weeks ago. Hopefully they are doing the same deal with $25 pesos to enter, including $25 worth of whatever.

As for Sunday’s game, I’m still not sure what I’ll be doing, though I’d obviously like to be able to watch it with some Argentinians. The worst case scenario would be watching it alone at home because there’s such a better vibe and energy in watching it with people, especially from that country. Everyone is in a good mood this week and soccer is obviously the reason. There will be little else going though people’s minds this weekend as we all await Sunday. I would go out on a limb and say that 90% of the conversations taking place nowadays are World Cup related. I have to play catch up and learn as much as I can to keep up, not only in vocabulary but in the game itself. Since this isn’t information that I grew up with, I have to adjust to my sport knowledge. I don’t know about you, but I’m excited for this weekend.

Leave a Reply

