¡Viene La Burra!

12 Jul

Tonight I got home from the office and got some great news in the form of an email. My friend Jhenifer (who I nicknamed “burra,” meaning donkey or idiot) from Cuenca is going to be traveling through South America with a final stop in Buenos Aires to visit me. She’s taking the trip of a lifetime with two friends, going by bus down through Peru and to Machu Picchu, through to Bolivia, and finally into Argentina. She’s going to spend 15 days in Buenos Aires to spend time catching up with me and investigating if she can study a postgraduate degree here.

Since the day I met her she told me she was getting ready to study in Buenos Aires. First she told me she’d be gone in a few months, then a year, and finally I eclipsed her plans by arriving here. Every time I asked she would say maybe another year, but finally she surprised me with something concrete. Jhenifer was one of my best Ecuadorian friends, and I hope she can study here and stay longer. I know that when she is here, even though it’s the middle of winter and I will be working most of the time, we’ll have a great time together, and obviously go salsa dancing at least once.

It’s also a plan that came together very quickly and will be executed just as swiftly. In just a couple of weeks they’ll be leaving Ecuador, arriving in Argentina a couple of weeks after that. As a person who lives abroad long term, the idea of having something to look forward to like a visiting friend is so important. Maybe in this case even more so, because there was always serious doubt as to when I would see her again. Now there’s no doubt, and the next couple of weeks will be filled with anticipation. I can’t wait.

2 Responses to “¡Viene La Burra!”

  1. Ralph July 20, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Sure sounds like a fun adventure for your friends! I hope you all will have fun.

    Your blog is great, you might like to come and party with us at the World Wide Travel Blog Party, don’t forget to invite more of your blogger friends along. Definitely the more the merrier! See you there and Kudos to you! 🙂

    • Jon July 20, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

      Thanks Ralph. I’ll have to look into the Web site and check into it. Keep reading!

      Jon

Leave a Reply

