Argentina Eclipses Ecuador

22 Jul

I can’t really wrap my brain around this idea, and I’m trying to figure out where time went, goes, will go. I arrived in Ecuador on August 30, 2008 and left on August 2, 2009. About 28 days shy of a year. I arrived in Argentina on August 22, 2009 and will soon be eclipsing my lengthy experience in the equatorial country. This means, as I’ve slowly seen in the last few months, that my connections with Ecuador, the language, and the culture, are growing thinner. Ecuadorian words are slipping out of my vocabulary, replaced by Argentinian words, and names and places are less in focus.

It was always inevitable, but coming face to face with the fact that the huge milestone is about to be triumphed over is in itself a scary accomplishment. At the end of next month I’ll have been living in South America for two years, a point reiterated by recent errors on my part in the last two days. Yesterday I had to translate into English two twin beds that could be combined to make a king size bed. What I came up with was “conjoined twins.” Today I wrote “Wi-Fi in all hotel,” before laughing at myself, followed a minute later by writing “syrup” by accident instead of “service.”

Linguistic errors aside, the time has been well spent and there’s still another year ahead. Tomorrow I turn 24, with the second consecutive birthday abroad, and at least the 3rd total of which I can remember. Last year at this time we were having dinner at the Colombian restaurant and then heading to La Mesa to dance salsa. A typical night, really. Well, salsa isn’t so typical here, but my coworkers and friends are making an exception and after work we’ll be going out for dinner followed by some salsa dancing in San Telmo. Argentinian custom dictates that I bring in croissants for the office as it’s my birthday, so I’ll be starting of the day down a few pesos. But I think it will wind up nicely by the end of it.

2 Responses to “Argentina Eclipses Ecuador”

  1. Patrick July 23, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    I have lived in Quito for over 16 years, I am happy to help with any questions you might have about the country. Patrick- bullock0005@yahoo.com

  2. Jon July 25, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Hi Patrick,

    Thanks for writing. I lived in Ecuador for 11 months, but obviously 16 years trumps that easily. Feel free to add in any insight on previous writings about Ecuador.

    Jon

Leave a Reply

