Channel 2 in Buenos Aires Officially Sucks

29 Aug

I used to watch Channel 2 here every day in the morning. “Buenos Días América” was a morning news show that I simply began watching because it was the first channel that I turned on the first day I had a TV. Even as I began watching this news program I knew there were major problems with their broadcasts, mainly stemming from their priorities. Top News doesn’t exist so much as whatever they feel like talking about that day. When I turn the news on in the morning, the only two things that I want to know are the weather and any possible traffic delays.

The weather on Channel 2 isn’t always delivered at 8:05, 8:15, and 8:25, for example. There are times when the news broadcast leads off with a woman crying into a microphone for 10 minutes, followed by 10 minutes of sports, aka only soccer. Maybe as an afterthought you’ll get to see the weather at the last minute, or a warning that the subways are on strike again. Personally, I would think that a subway strike should lead the news, but I’m not in charge.

I finally get fed up enough with them to look around for something else, and I think that for now I’ve settled on Channel 13, with the little sun in the corner. This is a public channel and they tend to check in on the weather every few minutes. That’s perfect for someone like me who is only looking for that kind of specific information in the morning to know whether or not you need to bring an umbrella. So the short of it is, if you’re visiting Buenos Aires and want to check in on one of the morning news channels one day, don’t bother with Channel 2.

In other news, there are always random noises in my apartment building. Elevator alarms, banging on the walls, and slamming doors make it not so quiet. Yet during the nighttime people are respectful and keep it down. That is except for last night when an apartment across the way had a party, and with the windows open and drunks yelling into the open space of the building, it sounded like they were all in my room. It was a Saturday night so I couldn’t fault them on any other day, but I had to wake up early in the morning to run a 10k and was in no mood.

Finally after 3:45 am, a time when even later get-togethers should have moved to a club, I became and old man and complained to the doorman to ask them to keep it down. He called up and soon they shut their windows, greatly cutting down on the noise. But the damage was done with the lost sleep, and when I woke up this morning for the race my body felt limp and unwilling. After dressing and stretching a bit I headed up to Palermo to meet up with the rest of the runners crazy enough to do a 10k in the winter.

It wasn’t like frigid conditions, but it was cold enough that it was hard to get a move at first. My left hand was numb and I ran in the pack and a strong headwind slowed me down. Throughout the race I was sure that I was running at a slower pace than I could normally do, what with lacking sufficient training throughout the coldest months. The last race that I ran at the end of March covered a similar track and I finished in 46 minutes and change. That was by far my best time and I didn’t think I could do better than that today. With the minimal training I was hoping for 50 or 55 minutes.

I was really struggling from the 6th kilometer and on, not so much because of the breathing, but because my legs felt so heavy and unwilling to move. I have yet to stop during a race and I was damned if I was going to do it today. The forecast had been calling for rain but luckily the skies were clearing up and it was even getting warmer by the 8th kilometer. The race kept looping, fooling me to believe that it was almost over, but finally we got to the finish line and I saw 45 minutes. I was taken by surprise, and finally crossed with a time of 45 minutes and 37 seconds (I might be off by one or two seconds because I lost my concentration as I passed).

Now, without trying very hard, I achieved my best time so far. And the running season has just begun, so whenever the next race I take part in is, I’ll be shooting for a better time. I’m looking out for the Nike 10k, though a date hasn’t been set yet, as far as I can tell. Now it’s time to heal the wounds with a victory beer and some TV.

2 Responses to “Channel 2 in Buenos Aires Officially Sucks”

  1. Justin August 29, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    Hey, congrats on the 10k, Jon!

    I’ll be working on an email to you one of these days; I might have a new writing project I could use your advice on, as well. I’ll elaborate when I can.

    Also, my thoughts are with you and your family. Take care, buddy!

    – Justin

    • Jon August 29, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

      Thanks JB! Definitely send me your next piece whenever it’s ready. I owe you an edit. I still believe in the Postal Service Writers Group. Also, thanks for the kind thoughts. What’s new with you? Save it for the email I suppose.

      We’ll talk soon.

      Jon

Leave a Reply

