About the Video from Part 2 of Uncorked

6 Sep

A good point was brought up today from Dan at Anuva Wines. In the video which I produced on the the wine tasting of the San Gimignano, you notice that my friends and I aren’t drinking out of proper wine glasses. I want to point out again that I am not an expert on wine, nor have I studied it or wine making in any great depth. However, I am a wine enthusiast and I have sampled numerous types throughout my time in Argentina, as well as in years in the past. I hope that everyone who reads and follows along with this series will keep that and mind and understand why I use simpler words like, “good” and “delicious”.

I think this is a valid opinion on wine because the great majority of the population aren’t wine experts. We all go by the word of friends, family, and average people we meet through every day life. Think of it as if a friend is giving you an honest opinion of a bottle they have tried. In the video from Part 2 you see that we are drinking out of regular water glasses, and Dan has pointed out that this can affect how the wine ends up tasting. With that in mind, I like to think of this as a learning process. For the next review, a real set of wine glasses will definitely be used to cover all of the bases. Additionally, each new review will be another experimentation, just like with the wine itself. There are plenty of ways to review the wine, so you’ll have to keep checking in to see how the process is coming along.

2 Responses to “About the Video from Part 2 of Uncorked”

  1. gberg September 8, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    Haven’t you learned by now?

    Drinking champagne from a paper cup
    Is never quite the same

    • Jon September 8, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      You’re absolutely right. But mind you, I was standing on the corner of a perforated sphere. So, you know, I wasn’t paying attention to the little details.

Leave a Reply

