A Tiny Bit of Good News

15 Sep

For those who have been following along and are aware that my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer recently, I’m glad to say that her surgery today went well. I was a bit worried at first because she told me that the operation would take 30 minutes (how could that even be possible?) and she was going in at 6:30 am in Boston, 7:30 am in Buenos Aires. By 11 am I still hadn’t heard any updates from my dad, but finally by 11 am Boston time (noon in BA) he sent me an email saying she was out. Later in the afternoon another couple of emails said that she was doing well and resting at home. Doctors took out a lymph node and a lot of tissue, but the good news was that it hadn’t spread any worse. In four to six weeks she’ll begin her radiation therapy, and then continue treatment with a pill for five years.

I want to thank those who have offered kind words and well wishes throughout this process. My little old mom has received a lot of support from friends of mine, from Smalltown, Massachusetts to Georgia, Louisiana, Ecuador, Chile, Argentina, etc. I really appreciate the kind words which helped a lot.

4 Responses to “A Tiny Bit of Good News”

  1. Andy September 17, 2010 at 2:24 am #

    The same happened to my mom, i told you didn’t i?
    she’ll be fine! hopefully this type of cancer can be cured!
    it’s a long process, but everything is going to be ok! 😀
    i know it’s difficult being so far away! but i’m glad hearing good news!

    • Jon September 17, 2010 at 8:14 am #

      Thanks Andy! Yes, you did tell me that your mom had cancer too. Thanks for the support, and I’m glad to see you’re reading the blog!

  2. gberg September 17, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Hey bud, glad to hear the great news. She’s lucky to be in Boston with some of the best doctors in the world. I’m sure they’re taking terrific care of her.

    For what it’s worth, my grandmother had breast cancer when she was a lot younger and she’s still ticking today.

    • Jon September 17, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

      Thanks Danny. I like to see you’re commenting on the blog more. That’s always been my hope. As for being with the best doctors, she works at Mass General and she’s gonna have to get treatment and then return to work. I don’t know, just doesn’t seem right. I’ve also heard stories about that place, but it can happen anywhere.

      I read the part about your grandma as “she’s still tickling today” which I didn’t think was that odd because grandparents often tickle grandkids, but ticking makes more sense.

Leave a Reply

