Awaiting the Nike 10k

12 Nov

After more than two months of hard training and more than who knows how many months (six maybe?) of thinking about this race, tomorrow is finally the big day for the Nike 10k in Puerto Madero. I’ve done 10ks before, so this really shouldn’t be a big deal, but since I’ve been talking it up so much and the office is all behind me on it, I’m almost a bit nervous like I was for my first race back in Cuenca in April 2009. Mainly, I just don’t want to screw up after training for so long.

The main difference that I see this time around is that I actually have expectations. Part of the reason that I always had so much fun with the races in the past was because I knew I wasn’t coming close to winning, but just finishing was enough for me. But now I actually have a goal in mind, and I want to finish in under 45 minutes, the time that I got in the last 10k in August. For that race, I wasn’t really training because it was winter, and now I’ve been working hard to get better. With expectations comes the risk of disappointment.

The biggest concern that I have now is that since Monday, a cold front has swept across Buenos Aires. The drastic change in temperature has seemingly caused everyone to get a cold, and I’ve been feeling under the weather all week. The forecast is looking good for tomorrow, but I need to hope that I wake up feeling better. Today I drank a liter of orange juice in addition to eating two oranges, taking ibuprofin and some effervescent vitamins. I just ate a big carbo-loaded dinner of pasta, and now I just need to relax until the race at 5 pm.

I’m not sure what the event planners in the city were thinking when they fixed up November 13th, but not only is the Nike 10k going on, but Creamfields music festival, the Jonas Brothers concert, and a number of other things are happening in Buenos Aires. To make sure I get there in good time and avoid traffic problems, I’m meeting up with my buddy Thom at 3:45 in the center, then meeting up with my co-worker Euge, who’s also running in the race at 4:30 down by the starting point. No matter what happens, it should be fun.

2 Responses to “Awaiting the Nike 10k”

  1. Juan Pablo November 12, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    Mucha suerte en la carrera de mañana! Llegues a la meta en tiempo o no, no te olvides de divertirte!

    • Jon November 13, 2010 at 11:50 am #

      Gracias Juan Pablo! Siempre disfruto las carreras y solo lo que importa es que se termina. Suerte!

Leave a Reply

