Uncorked with Travel Guy, Part 7: Coiron Torrontés

23 Dec

Now that we’re in the middle of our first extreme heat wave of the summer, it’s a perfect time to discuss the cool and refreshing 2009 Coiron Torrontés that I recently enjoyed with my buddy Brian. The first Torrontés that I tried was in the last piece, the Carinae, which if you remember from the video, I really loved. Yet I came in with no prejudices and had an open mind with this bottle from the Alto Palo Winery in Luján de Cuyo, Mendoza. Just to answer the question you probably have right off the bat: no, we weren’t drinking well before making the video that accompanies this post. I just thought it would be nice to mix things up a bit and get more creative with the video section.

So as for the wine itself. A powerful bouquet was noticeable right off the bat, and the first sip confirmed that it was a strong drink. A lot of bubbles and citric flavors rushed into my mouth, and at first I was taken aback. As I got more into the bottle I adjusted to it, but at the end of it I came to the conclusion that as far as Torrontés goes, I liked the Carinae better, which I found to be smoother and with a more diverse range. The wine definitely suits a spring or summer night and is very drinkable. You can’t go wrong with that. As always, thanks to my friends at Anuva Wines for providing the bottle.

Technical Data
Tasting Notes
Varietals: Torrontes 100%.
Maturation: 100% Destemed and crushed
grapes, cold skin contact before fermentation.
15 days of alcoholic fermentation.
Alcohol Content: ALC 13.0% by Vol.
Bottle: 750ml.
Packaging: 12 x750ml/case
Region: Tupangato, Mendoza.

Leave a Reply

