Archive | 8:36 pm

BA Cast Short

20 Jan

Another BA Cast Short episode is live on the Web site. This episode focuses on the differences between sauces and salsas and how most Argentinians are opposed to spicy foods.

Trying to Make Weekend Plans

20 Jan

I admit that I’ve been lax on the traveling as of late. It’s expensive to travel in Argentina and working full time gets me tired out so that by Friday, I just want the weekend to hang around and regroup (although that usually means going out as well). Distances are great in this country, meaning I can’t make it to the more interesting sights that I really want to see in just a couple of days, but one city that has been on my mind for a while is Rosario. Just about 4 hours north of Buenos Aires, Rosario is maybe the second most important city in Argentina, and is perhaps comparable to Chicago to New York.

I prefer to travel with someone simply because I find the experience more rewarding, though I have traveled alone before. I’m trying to find a buddy to go along with, though at the moment it’s looking unlikely. On the other hand, I’m searching through Couchsurfing in the hopes of getting a place to stay and meeting someone new. The only problem is that a lot of people are on vacation, and I need someone to reply to me fairly soon so that I know if I need to bring my bag to work or not.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll be able to get out of Buenos Aires for a couple of days, breath some new air, and even have some pictures to show for it.