Running For My Life…with Nike

11 Feb

Reading this blog throughout the last two years you’ll have noticed that I’ve become something of a runner. I’ve always said that I’m not a runner, however, but rather just a guy who runs. Runners are always training for some competition and have short shorts. Well, now it looks like I’m officially a runner, even though I don’t have the short shorts yet. But I’m working on that part too. This week I began training with the Nike Running Team in Palermo.

I’ve always seen the various running teams in the Palermo park system and wondered what they did. The Nike team is easily recognizable by their light blue training shirts, and running in packs, the team seems to command attention. I wrote to the team captain, Marcelo, for information this week when I decided that I wanted to up my training and see what the club had to offer. Immediately he responded, telling me about the various times the clubs met and what they could offer, inviting me to try out a class on Thursday night. The nicest part about living in front of the Botanical Garden is that the club meets just outside of my doorstep on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

For $110 ARS a month you are a club member with certain privileges and training assistance. The workout changes every day, and on Thursday the club members showed up one by one and introduced themselves. The trainers ran along with me as we talked about running, and once inside the Rosedal park we began the real workout. It was more like a gym class for adults, with stretching and muscular training. It reminded me of when I briefly played football, with up-downs and running continuously. The only difference is that while I used to hate that kind of exercise, I found myself loving it last night. Of course, today I’m a bit sore, but all the happier for it.

I need to get some medical tests done first and be cleared for physical exercise, but once I meet with the team doctor (who is also Manu Ginobli’s doctor) I’ll be set to go. So look out, now I’m a real runner.

One Response to “Running For My Life…with Nike”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Running For My Life…with Nike « Travel Guy -- Topsy.com - February 11, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jon Brandt, Jon Brandt. Jon Brandt said: Running For My Life…with Nike http://wp.me/pV6AR-ri […]

Leave a Reply

