You Can’t Spell Care Package Without…Well, Care

24 Feb

Mystery Box!

Last night I finally received one of the best care packages I’ve ever received, and only the first one I’ve gotten from a friend. My old buddy Jon Fish and I were talking on Skype back in October or November and I mentioned how we used to eat snacks like Cheez-Its and Goldfish when we went to his house, and how badly I missed them. So Fish said he would send me some soon. At Fish’s speed it took about three months to get his ass in gear, while I always looked up like an expectant puppy whenever someone came to the office door, hoping it would be my package.

He mailed the box of junk food under a month ago and the notice finally arrived last week, but the box had to be picked up in Customs, making it nearly impossible for me to go. Luckily, my old neighbor went on my behalf and had to wait 5 hours on Tuesday with no results, then return Wednesday and wait 2 more hours. Impressive, to translate directly from Spanish. I was having a rough day but as soon as I got the package my spirits were lifted, and cutting the tape revealed a box of Cheez-Its, Keebler Elf Fudge Cookies, Ritz crackers, two kinds of Golfish, a 12 oz bottle of Frank’s Red Hot Sauce and two old copies of ESPN Magazine. I couldn’t be happier.

Best Care Package Ever

Care packages really do make a difference, and the name says it all. It shows that someone cares enough to go out of their way and head to the store and post office. He might have spent less than $20 on the food but he spent $50 to ship it all. What a mench. Today I brought some of the food to the office to share with my coworkers and as I bit into the first Cheez-It it was like I was back home. It was totally delicious. Of course, my friends at the office claimed that they have similar things here, but once you’ve had the taste of Cheez-It or Ritz, there’s no going back. Don’t even try to talk to me about Cheeze Nips, don’t wanna hear it.

For now I’m just thrilled to have something from home to tide me over for a bit, but like Fish’s note said, “This should fatten you up,” I’ll have to keep in check how quickly I pound this junk food. There will be time for all that when I go home again.

2 Responses to “You Can’t Spell Care Package Without…Well, Care”

  1. Shannon February 25, 2011 at 12:38 am #

    Cute! I love sending care packages. There’s something so fun about putting small items together for someone. I think it’s one of those things where the whole is greater than the some of it’s parts!

    • Shannon February 25, 2011 at 2:21 am #

      and by some, I mean sum… #woops

Leave a Reply

