The UNICEF 7k Race for Education

13 Mar

This morning I took part in the UNICEF 7k Race for Education in the Palermo woods, and for now my unofficial time is 30 minutes and 6 seconds. It seems like a good time, but it’s hard for me to know for sure because I’m so used to thinking in terms of 10k’s. In any case, we had a clear day but a heavy rainstorm came in yesterday and brought a cold front with it. This might be the end of summer, which is the worst news possible. Last night and today have felt like pure autumn days, with winds and cold that leaves goosebumps on your skin.

During the week we had intense heat and humidity, but now we’ve taken a sharp turn and with the change in the weather, I hope I don’t get sick. You can see people bundled up, though that would most likely be attributed to the quick drop in temperature with no time to adjust. There are more races coming up now that summer is ending and the temperatures are cooling, but I think I might only have one more race in me while in Buenos Aires. I’m not a very good cold weather runner, and late April is about as far as I’m willing to push it.

This race today seemed to have poor organization from the get-go. 10 minutes before the starting time you could find about half of the runners still lined up to put away their belongings or waiting to pick up their electronic chips. This caused a bit of a delay in the actual start time. Two routes were available–one of 3 kilometers (more kid friendly) and one of 7 kilometers (more competitive). The two routes deviated at one point and as my experience in other races has shown, once you get past the split in groups it’s clear sailing. By the time you get to the finish line the slower people are either behind you or finished from the shorter route.

Yet on this track the route doubled up towards the end, rather than the beginning, so in the last kilometer I had to weave in between those who had already given up and decided to walk. Once finished, it took forever to get our belongings back. It seemed like after handing our stuff over the staff just threw the bags on the ground haphazardly, and then had no system for finding them. But anyway, I digress. It can’t get any worse than the 15k I ran in Quito in June, 2009 when people were running across the street and crowding into the lane with zero crowd control. Now it’s time to train for another 10k.

Leave a Reply

