Off to Bolivia, See You Soon!

21 Apr

Tomorrow I’m taking off for my vacation to Bolivia and northwest Argentina. A goal of this trip is to disconnect from technology for a bit, so don’t be surprised if you don’t see any posts in the next two weeks. However, when I get back you can be assured that there will be plenty to write about, along with pictures and videos. I’m “going dark” so to speak, so here’s what you can expect from my loose itinerary:

As of right now, the only things definite are my roundtrip air tickets to Salta, in northwest Argentina. I leave Buenos Aires at 8:30 pm if there are no delays and arrive to Salta by 10:45 pm, when I’ll get a taxi to the bus terminal and look for one of two bus companies leaving with midnight or 12:30 am buses to La Quiaca, on the border with Bolivia. Assuming it all works out, I’ll get in close to 8 am, and then I’ll cross into Villazón, Bolivia, where I’ll exchange money (currently 6.92 bolivianos to U$1) and find the train station.

I’m hoping to get a train to Tupiza, but if the train is full or doesn’t leave that day, I can still get a bus. The train only leaves twice a week and I’ve heard it’s nice, but can be a bit unreliable. It’s hard to get information out of there, but I’ve conferred with several friends who’ve done it before. Only about three hours away, once I get to Tupiza I’ll find a hostel and tour operator to plan a trip to the Salar de Uyuni, the great salt flats which are essentially drawing me to this landlocked country. I’m going to shoot for a 2-3 night excursion ending in Uyuni, where I’ll probably spend another night before moving on to Potosí.

In Potosí I imagine I’ll spend a couple of nights seeing the sights and then begin the trek back to Argentina. Back in Argentina, I want to spend a couple nights in Tilcara, using it as a base to visit Humahuaca and Purmamarca. I’ll next move south to the city of Salta for a couple of nights, or go straight to Cachi, Molino, and Cafayate. It’s all a plan set on the various pieces I’ve read and information I’ve been told, but basically, it’s the kind of region that allows you to play it by ear. If I get to Tilcara and don’t like it, I can move on and spend more time somewhere else.

These places I’m going to visit are, for the most part, small villages which urge you to take your time and relax, and that’s exactly what I hope to do. So I’ll be back on May 8th, when you’ll have a ton of story telling to digest. Until then, take care.

2 Responses to “Off to Bolivia, See You Soon!”

  1. Adam April 22, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Have a good trip, man.

    • Jon May 8, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

      Thanks guy.

Leave a Reply

