Waitin’ On a Friend

25 Jun

Amy and I back in Quito

Even though leaving Argentina is bittersweet, it’s made even more exciting by the fact that my good friend and arch nemesis Amy Lyon will be coming to visit just before I leave. Right after I get back from Rio de Janeiro, on July 7th Amy will be landing in Buenos Aires and sticking around for my last days to annoy me and ultimately make me glad to be leaving Buenos Aires, if only to be getting away from her. But nah, I kid of course. Amy is the man, in fact, she’s so cool that back in Ecuador we named her an honorary “man-dude” and let her in the circle of the only 8-9 men in the entire program. I’ve known Amy since first landing in Quito almost three years ago and it’s always been fun.

This isn’t even her first time coming to visit me here. Last March Amy visited with Carrie and Matt, also volunteers in Ecuador. If you search back through the archives you can read about it. This time, Amy has gotten herself a boyfriend from Bariloche who lives in New Orleans like her. She’s coming down solo at first, and once I leave her mom is coming to Buenos Aires and they’ll travel around. Then the boyfriend will come and they’ll get to visit the homeland.

The nice part of having Amy around, aside from all of the other nice aspects of it, is it will help in my transition back to the United States. Amy is one of the few people who I can talk to that gets it, and over a couple of beers we’ll catch up and pass those last cold days in Buenos Aires well. My last day at work is on Thursday, June 3oth, and then it’s all just tumbling down.

2 Responses to “Waitin’ On a Friend”

  1. Amy July 7, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    “Arch nemesis.” Yes, that’ll do nicely.

    • Jon July 8, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

      You make it sound like a bad thing. Think of it as Yin and Yang.

Leave a Reply

