The Despedida, A Going Away Party for Argentina

8 Jul

Tonight is my despedida, or going away party, and as much as I want to see my friends one last time and share one more drink, I wish it wasn’t the last hurrah. I waved for a while on the date and place, unable to make up my mind and annoyed with the prospect of having to plan some great bash, but in the end chose on a bar in San Telmo called Krakow. I’ve never been there but have been told that it’s cool, and I reserved a private section. The bar has Polish food, various beers, and games to choose from. I’ve started to throw some clothes in my backpack, and this means that it’s real now. In just a few days I’ll be going back to the United States.

It’s so weird that it’s now my turn again for this. For the last two years (three including Ecuador) I’ve gone to countless of going away parties and deleted untold numbers of digits from my cell phone. Friends came and went, and now once again it’s my turn to go. I don’t like being the center of attention and so a despedida isn’t my style exactly, but it’s the easiest way to say goodbye to everyone without running all over town. As it is, I’ve been keeping fairly busy the last couple of days here, and I’m still overwhelmed by what I have to do before leaving. One potential issue that just came up is that this weekend is a dry weekend because of the mayoral elections on Sunday. No one is really sure if the dry law goes into effect tonight or tomorrow, however, so for the moment it hangs up in the balance.

It’s going to be another bittersweet moment for me, and I just hope all of my friends here know that I’ll never forget them and will definitely come back one day. It just depends on how long it will be.

Leave a Reply

