Suburban Boredom Sets In

11 Aug

Spending a few weeks at home is always nice and refreshing. It allows you to rest up and regroup, but if you kick around the old town for too long, it gets boring and if you’re like me, you start to feel a sense of uselessness. There is nothing to do in a suburban town in the middle of the day during the week. I’ve already gone through numerous seasons of television shows, have read a book, and have been traveling somewhere almost every week. Luckily those trips have broken up the monotony, but I’m beginning to feel like my days are just wasting by. This is a familiar feeling for summer at home.

If we were closer to the city it wouldn’t be bad. I would easily go in and walk around Boston or visit friends for dinner. But in reality, getting into the city can be a bit of a hassle sometimes. I either need to get to the commuter rail and take the train in or drive to the nearest T station and head in. Then I have to work off of train schedules, and staying over makes me a bit of a nuisance. I feel like I need a purpose, or something to do rather than just sit around and watch TV, waiting for the day to end. I need to get on with my life.

I realize that I only have a couple more weeks of this boredom problem until I move to Washington. Soon I won’t have a minute to spare and that will be the new concern, and these days will seem like a dream, but as the saying goes, the grass is always greener on the other side. I do have things to look forward to at the very least. On Saturday I’ll be heading to New York for the first time in a very long time–at least 4 or 5 years–to visit my grandma and cousins. I’ll be there a couple of nights and then head back home.

Leave a Reply

