One Month Back on the Ranch

12 Aug

A month ago today I arrived back in Boston and ended my three year run in South America. In fact, right around this time in the afternoon (3:30 pm) I was probably pulling into my parents home in Sharon and taking it all in slowly. It was a surreal experience, to finally be back and see how things had changed, as well as the other things which were the same as always. I stood barefoot in the backyard with a beer in my hand and must have looked dazed, the jet lag and toll of the last few days in Buenos Aires adding up and finally equaling exhaustion.

The first month back home has been refreshing and set at the speed of sound. The first week back I reunited with a lot of old friends and shortly thereafter, I celebrated my 25th birthday in Boston. I spent some time up in Maine with college buddies and set off for Washington D.C. to try to find an apartment. In the process I was able to catch up with more old friends and acquaint myself a little better with the city that will shortly be my new home. A short respite at home and it was off again to Cape Cod, again to visit an old friend, and tomorrow morning I’ll be leaving for New York City to visit my grandma and cousins.

The feeling of elation at being home again and seeing familiar faces has made the transition pretty smooth, and even though I was expecting a harsh transfer, I’ve been spared for the most part. I’m cognizant of the fact that keeping busy has kept me in good spirits, and that’s why I wasn’t surprised by a bit of a let down this week as my main goals have been accomplished and I’ve started to see my days clear up a bit. It’s important to keep busy, but also to have enough free time when you return from abroad to process it all in. After everything you’ve been through, it wouldn’t be fair to just move on and not think about it. I don’t think you need to analyze every moment, but you owe it to yourself and those around you to think seriously about what you learned and what has changed.

Though my track record might speak differently, I’m not a huge fan of change. I like ordering the same favorite dishes in restaurants and having a comfortable place to live that I can call home. However, in the last few years I’ve moved around consistently and grown considerably, learning untold things and seeing much more than I’d ever expected. But that’s life, and you have to keep moving forward or you just stagnate. So here’s to another month in the U.S. See you after New York.

Leave a Reply

