2 Days Til Cuba

30 Dec

I’ve been quiet lately on the blog, but there really hasn’t been too much going on. After finishing my last final I had was able to hear Secretary of State Hillary Clinton speak at Georgetown University, went for a tour of the State Department, and then headed home to Boston/Sharon for a few days. I spent a day and a half in the city at my friend’s place, first catching up with my old friend Jamie from Ecuador (an American) who I hadn’t seen in over two and a half years. She’s also from the Boston area and was home for the holidays, even though she still lives in Ecuador while getting her Master’s.

Later, my friend Sebastian, a Paraguayan who is studying at American University, came to Boston to spend Christmas. He spent the night with my friends and I as we went out to a couple of bars, and the following morning we gave him a quick tour of Boston on a cold day. Luckily my buddy Fish knows the city like the back of his hand and gave a great tour, including New England Clam Chowder. My time in Boston was short lived and I flew back on Christmas, returning to Washington with a nasty cold. I whiled away three days in my apartment alone trying to recuperate and enjoying my only real week of vacation before leaving for Cuba. Yesterday was the only real day that I got out for a bit to do something, going down to the National Portrait Gallery Smithsonian. I’ve wanted to go there for a while, but as often happens when I go to a museum, I lost patience and wandered through quickly.

When there are too many exhibits and people I don’t like being in a museum. That explains why I was in and out of the Louvre in 30 minutes. I saw three big pieces and got out. In just two days I’ll be leaving Washington to head down to Miami, and the following morning we’ll be leaving as a group to go to Havana, Cuba. I’m still debating whether or not I want to bring my lap top, and it will probably be a game time decision. I’ve been told that our hotel will have Wi-Fi, but I’m skeptical of the connection speed, especially if 14 other people there are trying to use the Internet at the same time. I don’t want to come home to 200 emails, but I also don’t want to be so connected that I’m online all day long. Part of the joy of traveling is disconnecting.

Check back in just in case to see if I’m blogging from Cuba or if not, I’ll be back in two weeks and will have stories, photos and probably videos as well (though my ability to edit videos together when I get back is cut short by the beginning of the semester and my internship at the Organization of American States).

12 Responses to “2 Days Til Cuba”

  1. Malte Zeeck May 9, 2012 at 6:08 am #

    Hello there!

    My name is Malte Zeeck, and I am with InterNations.org. I really enjoyed reading your fantastic blog! I think expats in Argentina and around the world could really gain some great insights [and have a few good laughs] on this page. The quality of the blog in general is very convincing, which is why I would love to feature you and your writing on the Recommended Blog on Argentina section on InterNations.org
    Not only do we feature and link to your blog prominently; we also would like to hear from you directly in our questionnaire! We have also designed a link badge for your blog.
    If you are interested, please feel free to contact me via email: maltezeeck@internations.org
    Best,
    Malte Zeeck

  2. Boston Hotel Special Offers June 14, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    2 Days is very short to enjoy completely, but I am sure you might have enjoyed well there as I found your blog give fresh fragrance of Cuba joy. I must advice everyone who visit Cuba, must visit Playa Pesquero, Holguin

  3. Brandonerugs June 16, 2018 at 5:02 am #

    What do you guys think? Is BTC: cours du bitcoin en direct there an factor of instinctive bias- circa talk, everywhere shoes, in every direction array codes- at investment banks that prevents students from poorer backgrounds from succeeding? Or be subjected to banks just become the latest objective of activists who hope for to find bent everywhere?

  4. Walterhap September 15, 2018 at 12:53 pm #

    erste hilfe kurs fuhrerschein munchen

    erste hilfe kurs ostbahnhof münchen

  5. Nancyjal September 20, 2018 at 9:16 am #

    скажите лучше заказ кольцо, потому что, покупать в ювелирном магазине смысла нет переплачивать

    отличное предложение по цене
    kupibril.ru, сравнивала с другими ювелирами

  6. Tus November 24, 2018 at 1:27 pm #

    Привет на одном из сайтов нашел дестелятор теперь хочу подарить другу, только вот не знаю про эту фирму ничего, как вы считаете стоит взять
    самогонный аппарат добрый жар лидер

  7. MichaelTraug June 19, 2019 at 6:30 pm #

    subj..

  8. homebased October 27, 2019 at 8:40 am #

    http://home-babos.ru

  9. sergeyacronna November 10, 2019 at 7:12 am #

    регистрация

  10. hademahem November 28, 2019 at 10:55 am #

    Le PSG furieux contre le VAR, 100e pour MBAPPÉ, KANTÉ escroqué !

    DГ©jГ  qui ont eu de la chance (Paris) et ils parlent de la var
    https://fr.video-video.lv/video/Epj12XS34U6BQhU%3D.html

  11. Fedorhab May 25, 2020 at 4:14 pm #

    Три дня назад исследовал контент интернет, неожиданно к своему восторгу заметил неплохой веб-сайт. Гляньте: купить инста имя . Для моих близких данный сайт оказал незабываемое впечатление. Удачи!

Leave a comment